Monday, 9 July 2012

Uruguay's 18-man Olympic Squad

Oscar Washington Tabarez today officially confirmed his 18-man squad for the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

There were no surprises with Luis Suarez, Edinson Cavani and Egidio Arevalo Rios already announced as Uruguay's three over-age players last week.

Tabarez has opted to go with a mix of domestic and overseas-based players, with eight of the 18-man squad currently plying their trade in the Uruguayan Primera Division.

High-profile players include the three over-age stars, highly rated winger Gaston Ramirez of Bologna, Palermo's Abel Hernandez and Liverpool defender Sebastian Coates.

Uruguay's first game at the Olympics will be on July 26 against the United Arab Emirates before facing other Group A opponents Senegal and Great Britain on July 29 and 1 August respectively.


1. Martin Campaña (Cerro Largo, Uruguay)
2. Ramon Arias (Defensor Sporting, Uruguay)
3. Diego Polenta (Genoa, Italy)
4. Sebastian Coates (Liverpool, England)
5. Emiliano Albin (Peñarol, Uruguay)
6. Alexis Rolin (Nacional, Uruguay)
7. Edinson Cavani (Napoli, Italy)
8. Maximiliano Calzada (Nacional, Uruguay)
9. Luis Suarez (Liverpool, England)
10. Gaston Ramirez (Bologna, Italy)
11. Abel Hernandez (Palermo, Italy)
12. Jonathan Urretaviscaya (Vitoria de Guimaraes, Portugal)
13. Matias Aguirregaray (Palermo, Italy)
14. Nicolas Lodeiro (Ajax, Holland)
15. Diego Rodriguez (Defensor Sporting, Uruguay)
16. Tabare Vuidez (Nacional, Uruguay)
17. Egidio Arevalo Rios (Tijuana, Mexico)
18. Leandro Gelpi (Peñarol, Uruguay)

Alejandro Silva, Marcelo Silva, Federico Pintos and Martin Rodriguez make up the emergency players.